Elegy for a Dead World – Writing as Gaming

The son, Goat 2, over at Learning, Play, Etc. has gotten my attention with a new game called Elegy for Dead Planet. The concept is fascinating, “Explore dead civilizations, write about what you find, and share your stories with the world.” It is not yet launched but appears to intertwine a gaming story with prompts for the gamer to complete and share. I could see my Tech Club running wild with this and even mElegy for a Dead World - Who is Shey most reluctant writers in my regular class could easily be sucked in. I just hope there is an opportunity to pilot the game in the classroom. As of yet, there seems to be no link for educators. Perhaps this will be another sneak attack like MinecraftEDU. My fingers are crossed that they will offer a trial for education. This could really inspire my students!

For an introductory video, see – https://youtu.be/bfps2HKE4B4

2 Comments

Filed under Cool Tools, Digital Storytelling, Uncategorized, Web 2.0, Writing

2 responses to “Elegy for a Dead World – Writing as Gaming

  1. It’s out! Check out my most recent post for a story I made a little while back 🙂 Then go buy it on steam!

  2. jennybateacher

    As a teacher, and your mama, I would rather have a free trial to begin with. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

